2021 UK MVA Winners

UK MVAs took place last night at the The Roundhouse in London, honoring a bevy of artists with awards in a multitude of categories. Multiple winners include Dua Lipa, Pa Salieu and Joy Crookes, who each won two awards apiece, while other notable winners include Tanu Muino as Best Director and Duck Sauce’s "Mesmerize", directed by Keith Schofield, which was crowned Best Video.

Read more for the full awards list and congrats to all!

Best Pop Video – UK in association with Cinelab Film & Digital

  • Dua Lipa – Love Again
  • director: Lope Serrano aka CANADA
  • producers: Karen Saurí, Oscar Romagosa prod co: CANADA
  • commissioner: Katie Dolan for Warner Records

Best R&B / Soul Video – UK

  • Celeste – Tonight Tonight
  • director: Noah Lee
  • producers: Kate Brady, Suzan Mustafa
  • prod co: Riff Raff Films
  • commissioner: Marco Grey for Polydor Records

Best Dance / Electronic Video – UK

  • Hot Chip, Jarvis Cocker – Straight To The Morning
  • director: RÉALITÉ
  • producer: Karen Saurí
  • prod co: CANADA
  • commissioner: John Moule for Domino Recording Co

Best Rock Video – UK

  • Beabadoobee – Last Day On Earth
  • director: Arnaud Bresson
  • producer: Théo Gall
  • prod co: DIVISION
  • commissioner: Chris Melian for Dirty Hit Records

Best Alternative Video – UK

  • James Blake – Say What You Will
  • director: Bear Damen
  • producer: Salim El Arja
  • prod co: Couscous
  • commissioner: Semera Khan for Polydor Records

Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video – UK

  • Pa Salieu ft Backroad Gee – My Family
  • director: Femi Ladi
  • producer: Mathias Gilay
  • prod co: Untold Studios
  • commissioner: Oksi Odedina for Warner Records

Best Pop Video – International

  • Lil Nas X ft Jack Harlow – Industry Baby
  • director: Christian Breslauer
  • producers: Andrew Lerios, Luga Podesta, Saul Levitz, Brandon Bonfiglio
  • prod co: London Alley
  • commissioner: Saul Levitz for Columbia Records

Best R&B / Soul Video – International

  • Normani x Cardi B – Wild Side
  • director: Tanu Muino
  • producer: Jack Winter
  • prod co: UnderWonder Content
  • commissioners: Camille Yorrick & Chris Clavadetscher for RCA Records

Best Dance / Electronic Video – International

  • Duck Sauce – Mesmerize
  • director: Keith Schofield
  • repped by Caviar
  • commissioner: Katy Eggleton for Duck Sauce

Best Rock Video – International

  • Biting Elbows – Boy Is Dead
  • director: Ilya Naishuller
  • prod co: Versus Pictures
  • commissioner: MTS

Best Alternative Video – International

  • Sansara – We Will Become Better
  • director: Andzej Gavriss
  • producers: Egor Solomatin, Mikhail Marizov, Evgeny Primachenko, Andrei Gubaidullin, Alexandra Galius
  • prod co: Daddy's Film
  • commissioner: Egor Solomatin for Nepokoi

Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video – International

  • Megan Thee Stallion – Thot Shit
  • director: Aube Perrie
  • exec producer: Boris Labourguigne
  • producer: Sarah Park & Nick Callais
  • prod co: Left Productions
  • commissioner: Lucas Prevost for 300 Entertainment

Best Pop Video – Newcomer

  • Drew Sycamore – 45 Fahrenheit Girl
  • director: Jonatan Egholm Keis
  • producer: Jonatan Egholm Keis
  • prod co: New Land
  • commissioner: Jan-Erik Stig for Warner Music Denmark

Best R&B / Soul Video – Newcomer

  • Bamao Yendé & Le Diouck – Marvin Gueye
  • director: Vincent Catel
  • producer: Roman Pichon Herrera & Pierre-Edouard Sigwalt
  • prod co: Diplomats
  • commissioner: Max Le Disez for Boukan Records

Best Dance / Electronic Video – Newcomer

  • Modeselektor – Mean Friend
  • director: Abigail Wilson
  • producer: Paulien Voorkamp
  • prod co: Bwgtbld
  • commissioner: Matthias Klein / C/O Magick for Sony Music

Best Rock Video – Newcomer

  • Jeremy Ivey – Someone Else's Problem
  • director: Kimberly Stuckwisch
  • producer: Ian Blair
  • prod co: Invisible Inc
  • commissioner: Ryan Marian for Anti Records

Best Alternative Video – Newcomer

  • Audiobooks – Lalala It's The Good Life
  • director: Rottingdean Bazaar
  • producer: Rosie Brear
  • prod co: Blink Productions
  • commissioner: Danny Mitchell & Jeff Barrett for Heavenly Recordings

Best Hip Hop / Grime / Rap Video – Newcomer

  • Homeboy Sandman – Monument
  • director: Pavel Buryak
  • producers: Gretta Wilson, Pavel Buryak
  • rod co: Rafesthetic.tv
  • commissioner: Angel Del Villar for Mello Music Group

Best Performance in a Video

  • Salvatore Ganacci – Step-Grandma
  • performer: Salvatore Ganacci
  • director: Vedran Rupic
  • prod co: Business Club Royale
  • record co: Zatara Recordings

Best Production Design in a Video

  • DJ Snake & Selena Gomez – Selfish Love
  • production designer: Taísa Malouf
  • director: Rodrigo Saavedra
  • prod co: The Directors Bureau & LANDIA
  • record co: Interscope

Best Wardrobe Styling in a Video in association with i-D

  • Joy Crookes – Feet Don't Fail Me Now
  • stylists: Matthew Josephs (Joy Crookes) Natalie Roar (cast)
  • director: Taz Tron Delix
  • prod co: COMPULSORY
  • record co: Sony Music Entertainment

Best Hair & Make-Up in a Video in association with Loop Talent

  • Joy Crookes – Feet Don't Fail Me Now
  • stylist: Mata Marielle (MUA), Issac Poleon (Hair)
  • director: Taz Tron Delix
  • prod co: COMPULSORY
  • record co: Sony Music Entertainment

Best Choreography in a Video

  • Purple Disco Machine ft Moss Kena & The Knocks – Fireworks
  • choreographer: Adam Beta
  • director: Greg Barth
  • prod co: Common People Films & Rekorder
  • record co: Sony Music Entertainment

Best Cinematography in a Video in association with Panalux

  • Califato 3⁄4 – Fandangô de carmen porter
  • dop: Michal Babinec
  • director: Nono Ayuso
  • prod co: Landia & Dude Originals
  • record co: Breaking Bass Records

Best Colour Grading in a Video in association with CHEAT

  • Bastille – Distorted Light Beam
  • colourist: Alex Gregory
  • director: Jak Payne
  • prod co: Blink Productions
  • record co: Virgin Records

Best Editing in a Video in association with Homespun

  • Little Simz – Introvert
  • editor: Elise Butt at Trim Editing
  • director: Salomon Lighthelm
  • prod co: Prettybird UK
  • record co: AWAL
  • record co: Animal 63

Best Visual Effects in a Video in association with LEAP

  • Bicep ft Clara La San – Saku
  • vfx artist: Alexis Baillia at Firm Studio
  • director: David Betram
  • prod co: Diplomats
  • record co: Ninja Tune

Best Animation in a Video

  • L'Impératrice – Hématome
  • animators: Roxane Lumeret, Jocelyn Charles, Chloé Farr
  • director: Roxane Lumeret & Jocelyn Charles
  • prod co: Studio Remembers
  • record co: Microqlima

Best Special Video Project

  • Topaz Jones – Don’t Go Tellin’ Your Momma
  • directors: rubberband., Topaz Jones
  • producer: Luigi Rossi
  • prod co: SMUGGLER
  • record co: New Funk Academy / Black Canopy

Best Live Video

  • Pa Salieu – Frontline (live on Jimmy Fallon)
  • director: TAWBOX
  • producer: Ghandi El-Chamaa
  • prod co: Film Band
  • record co: Atlantic Records

Best Music Film in association with Anna Valley

  • Dua Lipa – Studio 2054
  • director: Liz Clare
  • producer: Peter Abbott
  • prod co: Ceremony London
  • record co: Warner Records

Best Commissioner

  • Kat Cattaneo

Best Agent

  • Sam Davey (OB Management)

Best Producer in association with WPA UK

  • Precious Mahaga

Best Production Company


Best Post Production Company in association with Studio RM

  • Electric Theatre Collective

Best New Director in association with Time Based Arts

  • Aube Perrie

Best Director in association with Electric Theatre Collective

  • Tanu Muino

The Outstanding Achievement Award

  • Juliette Larthe

Video of the Year

  • Duck Sauce – Mesmerize
  • director: Keith Schofield
  • repped by Caviar
  • commissioner: Katy Eggleton for Duck Sauce
Tags: News