2013 UK MVA Winners

The UK Music Video Awards (MVAs) took place last night in London with winners ranging from France's Megaforce and Fleur & Manu directing teams, Spain's creative group Canada (confusing, yes?), US director Kahlil Joseph and lots of UK representatives.

Rock legend Ray Davies bestowed music video and film legend Julien Temple with the Icon Award, recognizing his nearly 40 year career from documentaries for The Sex Pistols and Joe Strummer to videos for The Rolling Stones, David Bowie, Janet Jackson, Neil Young and many other luminaries.

See below for all the winners!

Best Pop Video – UK in association with 4Music 
Alex Courtès for Willy Moon – Yeah Yeah 
Best Dance Video – UK in association with RiRi Productions 
Josh Cole for Rudimental ft John Newman & Alex Clare – Not Giving In 
Best Rock/Indie Video – UK in association with Decode UK 
Ninan Doff for Darwin Deez – Free (The Editorial Me) 
Best Alternative Video – UK 
BISON for London Grammar – Wasting My Young Years 
Best Urban Video – UK 
Ian & Cooper for Joel Compass – Back To Me 
Best Pop Video – International 
Melina Matsoukas for Solange Knowles – Losing You 
Best Dance Video – International 
Fleur & Manu for Gesaffelstein – Pursuit 
Best Rock/Indie Video – International 
Megaforce for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege 
Best Alternative Video – International 
Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – Until The Quiet Comes 
Best Urban Video – International 
Andreas Nilsson for 2 Chainz ft Kanye West – Birthday Song

Best Pop Video – Budget
Zaiba Jabbar for Tiny Dancer – Who Am I 

Best Dance Video – Budget 
Ola Martin Fjeld for Pixel – Call Me 
Best Rock/Indie Video – Budget 
Stevie Russell for Kodaline – All I Want 
Best Alternative Video – Budget 
Fleur & Manu for Connan Mockasin – Faking Jazz Together 
Best Urban Video – Budget 
LAMAR+NIK for Lushlife – Magnolia 
Best Art Direction & Design in a Video 
CANADA for Phoenix – Trying To Be Cool 
Best Styling in a Video 
Angela Esteban Librero for DJ Fresh vs Diplo ft Dominque Young Unique – Earthquake 
Best Choreography in a Video 
Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui for Sigur Ros – Valtari 
Best Cinematography in a Video in association with Panalux 
Steve Annis for Jon Hopkins – Open Eye Signal 
Best Colour Grade in a Video 
Aubrey Woodiwiss for Foals – Late Night 
Best Animation in a Video 
Tom Jobbins for Hiatus ft Shura – We Can Be Ghosts Now 
Best Editing in a Video 
Sophie Fourdrinoy for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege 
Best Visual Effects in a Video in association with Quantum SFX 
Mathematic Paris for Gesaffelstein – Pursuit 

Best Live Coverage 
Dick Carruthers for Led Zeppelin – Celebration Day 
Best Music Ad – TV or Online 
Powster for Laura Mvula – Sing To The Moon 
Best Interactive Video 
Moniker for Do Not Touch – Kilo by Light Light 
Best Director in association with Promo News 
Best New Director in association with Locomotion 
Andrew Thomas Huang 
Best Producer in association with Rushes 
Liz Kessler 
Best Commissioner 
Dan Curwin

The Icon Award 
Julien Temple 
VEVO Best New Video Artist 
Naughty Boy ft Sam Smith for La La La 
Video of the Year 
Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – Until The Quiet Comes 

Tags: News